LP appoints Baguilat, Tañada to key party posts

MANILA – Liberal Party President Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan has appointed Representative Teodoro “Teddy” Baguilat (Lone District, Ifugao) as Vice President for Internal Affairs and former Representative Lorenzo “Erin” Tañada (4th District, Quezon) as Vice President for External Affairs, effective immediately.

Representative Teddy Baguilat at the Liberal Party National Executive Council (NECO) meeting 10 Aug 2017

Both posts are part of the party’s National Executive Council (NECO), which serves as the highest executory body of the Party and is representative of the Party’s National Directorate.

“Malaki ang tiwala natin na magagampanan nang maayos ni Cong. Teddy at Cong. Erin ang mga responsibilidad na kaakibat ng kanilang posisyon. Nagagalak din tayo na lugod na handa silang tanggapin ang hamon sa aming patuloy na pagpapatatag ng aming partido. Ngayong bahagi na sila ng NECO, mas mapapaayos namin ang takbo ng buong partido,” Pangilinan said.

Former Representative Erin Tañada with Senator Francis Pangilinan and former Senator Wigberto Ka Bobby Tanada at the Liberal Party National Executive Council (NECO) meeting 10 Aug 2017

(“We have full confidence that Cong. Teddy and Cong. Erin will be able to fulfill the duties attached to their positions. We are also happy that they are ready to face the challenge of rebuilding our party. Now that they are part of the NECO, we will be able to further fix the direction of our National Directorate.”)

The National Directorate has the overall supervision and control of the party and is composed of delegates elected by the general assembly from the party’s chapters.

Baguilat was also appointed chairperson for National Organizing and Membership, a standing commission responsible for the recruitment of new members and the expansion of the party.

On August 10, the Liberal Party ratified the party chairmanship of Vice President Leni Robredo, as well as the party presidency of Senator Kiko Pangilinan in a NECO meeting last August 10. It also conferred the title of chairman emeritus to former President Benigno Aquino III.